Sector 2814


Z’EV – “Heads & Tales”

Posted in Uncategorized by Mogo on March 15, 2008

this 1996 Avant release sees a bit of a departure from the type of material I had been used to hearing from Z’EV. his percussive tendencies – particularly those involving various types of metal – are arguably what he’s best known for. and, truth be told, that’s where my own affections for his material are the strongest. what we have here though is an interesting mix of speech samples, acoustic percussion and what sounds to my ears like some electronic percussion as well. one review I read characterized this as his best release – I don’t know if I’d go that far (and I won’t claim to be familiar with his entire catalog either), but it’s certainly one of the more enjoyable of the ones I have heard. I was also reading on another blog that had posted some of his earlier material that Z’EV appreciates and encourages internet-based sharing of his work, so here’s one that no one has to feel guilty about 😉

knock yourselves out

4 Responses to 'Z’EV – “Heads & Tales”'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Z’EV – “Heads & Tales”'.

  1. said,

    no one should feel guilty ever – and to see all these avants here is quite pleasant. i still have all the shared ones from the gone ar-blog, if there’s a need for s’thing specific.

    heads up!

  2. said,

    now – your promise of making ALL the avants available is a great one, looking forward for the ones who hadn’t been posted on the other blog.

  3. Mogo said,

    hm, well, so far I’ve only managed to gather the ones that WERE on the other blog… so someone might have to help me out with the rest…

  4. kevinass said,

    can this be re-uppppd?


Leave a Reply

