Sector 2814


William Parker & Hamid Drake – “Piercing the Veil”

Posted in Uncategorized by Mogo on July 11, 2007

I first became aware of William Parker’s work over a decade ago when I encountered him as part of the David S. Ware Quartet. seeing the quartet live (including Susie Ibara on drums and Matthew Shipp on piano) was nothing short of a revelation at the time… at any rate, Parker’s wiki entry covers the basics of his career well enough that I’d feel redundant repeating it here.

as for Hamid Drake, I’m almost embarassed to admit that this was my first knowledgeable encounter with his work. he’s played with many jazz heavyweights and I undoubtedly heard him on many recordings when I was more heavily into jazz a decade back; but back then I often paid little attention to anything beyond the musician whose name graced a recording. regardless of my own ignorance, this interview does a good job summarizing who he’s played with during the introduction and is a good read overall.

as for the album, why don’t we let the instrumentation speak for itself:

William Parker  –  Bass, Dumbek, Shakuhachi, Drums, Balafon, Bass (Upright), Bombard
Hamid Drake  –  Percussion, Drums, Tabla, Bells, Frame Drum

please note: what I’ve posted here is the original edition of this release, which is now out of print.

there is an expanded 2xCD edition that is currently available here:

http://www.aumfidelity.com/aum039.html

it contains material that is not included in this post.

my hope with this one is that if people enjoy the original version, they will want to purchase the expanded version above and get the extra material as well. I plan to, as soon as funds permit me to do so.

get the original version here

2 Responses to 'William Parker & Hamid Drake – “Piercing the Veil”'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'William Parker & Hamid Drake – “Piercing the Veil”'.

  1. Dan said,

    You know, it’s one thing to post albums when they’re out of print. But I find it odd that you’d call yourself a fan of hte music and then post albums released by small independent labels that really need the support. At least do them a favor and link to where people can buy the album.

  2. Mogo said,

    I was going by this page:

    http://www.aumfidelity.com/aum017.html

    it states that the original edition is out of print. I quote: “Original edition is out of print; NOW AVAILABLE in an expanded 2xCD edition”.

    what I’ve posted here is the original edition.

    the 2xCD edition that is currently available here

    http://www.aumfidelity.com/aum039.html

    contains material that is not included in this post.

    my hope with this one is that if people enjoy the original version, they will want to purchase the expanded version above and get the extra material as well. I plan to, as soon as funds permit me to do so. I should have made this more clear in the original post. in fact, I will copy part of this over to the main page now.


Leave a Reply

