Sector 2814


Blacklight Braille – “Songs for the Longhaired Suns”

Posted in Uncategorized by Mogo on July 11, 2007

I don’t even remember how they caught wind of me, but back in the 90s when I was doing a fanzine, Owen Knight (leader/figurehead/whatever of the group) started sending me their discs to review. many of them. I’ve lost track of some (probably still buried in boxes from one of my 10 moves in nearly as many years) but managed to unearth this one when I noticed that Mutant Sounds were searching for them. I ripped it and sent them a copy but it never showed up over there, so I figured I may as well share it here. self-coined as “fringerock”, that term barely scratches the surface of what we have here. one really only need look at the entire insert-page of instrumentation to get an idea of what went into the songs here. there’s a good retrospective here and this lends to the impression that the collective is still active.

fans of all this new-fangled “freak-folk” stuff from the past few years can find a whole different take on it here.

Leave a Reply

